A Change in Perspective

It has been a while since my last post because I have not felt terribly inspired to write. Part of this has to do with the ongoing journey with food and nutrition that I seem to find myself on. I chose the name of my blog (and business), Tune Into Well-being, largely because it has personal meaning and connection to my childhood. After having reassessed my views on food over the past year, I am starting to realize that I may have chosen the name of my business as a constant reminder to myself to never stop listening to what my body is saying to me. If there is anything I have learned on this journey toward better health it’s that really paying attention to the feedback your body is giving you is what matters most. This process can sometimes be like trying to tune into a radio station that is almost coming in but still a little fuzzy. If you turn the dial just the slightest you can almost hear the song perfectly. Sorry if that analogy confuses anyone under the age of 25. I am not sure how much people actually listen to the radio any more, or have the ability to turn a dial to tune into a station. The point is, you may not always be able to completely decipher what your body is telling you. It is important that you are trying because sometimes the signal comes thru loud and clear. What is even more important is that you are not so attached to what you believe is healthy that you are unwilling to actually recognize what the body is telling you. That signal could be coming thru crystal clear and loud as can be but we seem to possess a tremendous capacity to drown things out, especially if they do not fall in line with what we believe to be true.

I talked about this in my first post.

“I have come to realize how easily diet can turn into a pseudo religious belief. Like any other belief system, when you begin to invest your identity in it you are at risk of accepting ideas as true because they reinforce your beliefs. Once you become stuck in a mentality like this it is harder for you to see when the ideas you have invested in become detrimental on some level.”

There seems to have been an explosion of “real food” bloggers in the past 5 to 10 years and this has been very beneficial in many ways. There are a lot of people passionately writing about issues pertaining to food that are incredibly important. As a result, many people are now better educated on ways to pursue health and are more connected to how food impacts them. The problem arises when we too readily dismiss other points of view in favor of one we have grown very attached to. My learning experience with food seems to be a constant process of getting really excited about a particular view on food only to learn later that it may not necessarily support long term health. That is the trick. Many of the diets that people become attached to are incredibly therapeutic at first. Initially you may experience a long list of benefits that enable you to feel really good about that particular diet. Once you become attached you are more at risk for dismissing the biofeedback your body is giving you that might indicate some of the negative impacts of the diet. If this goes on too long it can result in some incredibly frustrating health problems. This can put you back at square one and possibly worse off.

If you have been on any sort of journey towards better health in recent years there is a hilarious post called, “The Terrible Tragedy of the Healthy Eater,” that is definitely worth a read.

My hope with my blog has been to help provide information that people can use to investigate their options. A lot of mainstream information about health and diet is incredibly misleading and in some cases completely false. There are many alternatives that can be incredibly helpful but should be viewed as a step in the journey toward health and not necessarily the destination. As I indicated above, many diets are quite therapeutic. This means they can be used as a part of the process of building better health but are not necessarily meant for sustaining lifelong health. So I encourage anyone who is seeking to improve their health through diet to really research the information they come across. More importantly, when attempting a new diet, whether it be to lose weight or improve your health, always pay attention to the signals your body is giving you. Do not get so attached to the diet that you are unwilling to recognize when the diet is no longer supporting your health. Also, remember that what works well for one person may not work well for another. Do not be surprised if something your husband/wife/partner/best friend/cousin/etc. tries does not work for you.

I am grateful for the process I have come through because it has made me a far better Nutritional Therapy Practitioner. It has caused me to have a much broader understanding of the many ways that food and diet can impact us. It helps me keep an open mind when working with clients and reinforces the need to help people Tune Into their own body and pay attention to the signals it is giving them.

Leave a Reply

